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An act to amend Section 1269b of, and to add Sections 1269d and 
1302.5 to, the Penal Code, relating to bail. 

legislative counsel’s digest 

SB 262, as amended, Hertzberg. Bail. 
Existing law provides for the procedure of approving and accepting 

bail, and issuing an order for the appearance and release of an arrested 
person. Existing law authorizes specified sheriff, police, and court 
employees to approve and accept bail in the amount fixed by the warrant 
of arrest, schedule of bail, or order admitting to bail. Existing law 
requires the superior court judges in each county to prepare, adopt, and 
annually revise a uniform countywide schedule of bail, as specified. 

This bill would require bail to be set at $0 for all offenses except, 
among others, serious or violent felonies, violations of specified 
protective orders, battery against a spouse, sex offenses, and driving 
under the influence. The bill would require the Judicial Council to 
prepare, adopt, and annually revise a bail schedule for the exempt 
offenses. The bill would state the intent of the Legislature to enact 
further changes to current law to ensure that a defendant is not detained 
pending trial simply due to an inability to pay for the amount of bail in 
the statewide schedule. statewide bail schedule. The bill would require 
bail to be set according to the statewide schedule for any subsequent 
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seperate offense while the defendant is released on bail that was set at 
$0. The bill would require the court, prior to setting bail, to consider 
whether nonfinancial conditions will reasonably protect the public and 
the victim and reasonably assure the arrestee’s presence at trial. The 
bill would, if the court concludes that money bail is necessary, require 
the court to consider the arrestee’s ability to pay and to set bail at a 
level the arrestee can reasonably afford. The bill would prohibit costs 
relating to conditions of release on bail from being imposed on persons 
released on bail or on their own recognizance. The bill would require 
the sheriff, police, and court employees above to approve and accept 
bail in the amount fixed by the bail schedule. 

This bill would require the court to order a return of money or property 
paid to a bail bond licensee by or on behalf of the arrestee to obtain bail 
if the action or proceeding against the arrestee who has been admitted 
to bail is dismissed, no charges are filed against the arrestee within 60 
days of arrest, or the arrestee has made all court appearances during the 
pendency of the action or proceeding against the arrestee, as specified. 
The bill would authorize the bail bond licensee to retain a surcharge 
not to exceed 5% of the amount paid by the arrestee or on behalf of the 
arrestee. The bill would require the court to order this return of money 
or property only for a bail contract entered into on or after January 1, 
2022. 

Vote:   majority.   Appropriation:   no.  Fiscal committee:   yes.​

State-mandated local program:   no.​

The people of the State of California do enact as follows: 

 line 1 SECTION 1. The Legislature finds and declares all of the 
 line 2 following: 
 line 3 (a)  The pretrial justice system in California is fundamentally 
 line 4 broken. Not only has it failed to achieve its stated objectives of 
 line 5 preventing recidivism and assuring court appearance, but it has 
 line 6 significantly eroded a sacred principle in our criminal justice 
 line 7 system: the presumption of innocence. 
 line 8 (b)  California’s high incarceration rate is a direct consequence 
 line 9 of our heavy reliance on pretrial detention. In 2015, the Public 

 line 10 Policy Institute of California reported that roughly 50,000, or 62 
 line 11 percent, of jail beds in California were filled with inmates awaiting 
 line 12 trial or sentencing. According to a more recent report, 44,241 
 line 13 county jail inmates across California in 2020, approximately 
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 line 1 three-quarters of the state’s total jail population, had not been 
 line 2 convicted of or sentenced for a crime. 
 line 3 (c)  As the California Supreme Court has observed, the 
 line 4 consequences of pretrial detention on the accused and their 
 line 5 families are immense and profound. Research suggests that pretrial 
 line 6 detention heightens the risk of losing a job, a home, and custody 
 line 7 of a child. Time in jail awaiting trial may even be associated with 
 line 8 a higher likelihood of reoffending, beginning anew a vicious cycle. 
 line 9 (d)  These consequences are intensified by California’s money 

 line 10 bail system, which often keeps people incarcerated before trial 
 line 11 simply because they cannot afford to pay bail. Indeed, as the 
 line 12 California Supreme Court has adduced, the median bail amount 
 line 13 in California, roughly $50,000, is more than five times the median 
 line 14 for the rest of the nation on average. 
 line 15 (e)  A recent report published by the University of California, 
 line 16 Los Angeles, Bunche Center estimated that approximately 97 
 line 17 percent of people who make bail in California use a bail agent 
 line 18 and pay a nonrefundable fee to a private company in order to 
 line 19 secure their freedom. This is not a simple transaction because 
 line 20 people often have to borrow from friends and family, enter into 
 line 21 exploitative financing schemes, or put up their property, even their 
 line 22 homes, as collateral. Arrestees unable to gather the funds are often 
 line 23 pressured into taking a plea without having a full and fair 
 line 24 opportunity to defend their case, or worse, when they are actually 
 line 25 innocent. 
 line 26 (f)  The money bail industry in California has evolved into a 
 line 27 predatory scheme that puts profits over people and does not 
 line 28 enhance public safety or improve court appearance rates. 
 line 29 According to the Public Policy Institute of California, despite 
 line 30 higher rates of pretrial detention compared to other states, 
 line 31 California, under the current system, still has lower court 
 line 32 appearance rates and higher rearrest rates. 
 line 33 (g)  The California Supreme Court has noted that the excessive 
 line 34 pretrial detention that results from California’s money bail system 
 line 35 forces the state to bear the cost of housing and feeding arrestees 
 line 36 that could be properly released. For instance, just six California 
 line 37 counties spent $37,500,000 over a two-year period jailing people 
 line 38 who were never charged or who had charges dropped or dismissed. 
 line 39 (h)  By shifting from a system focused on pretrial detention to 
 line 40 one focused on pretrial release, outcomes could be vastly improved. 
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 line 1 Studies show that the cost of supervising a person in the community 
 line 2 pending trial is generally about 10 percent the cost of keeping 
 line 3 them in jail. Several jurisdictions across the country have 
 line 4 transitioned to release-based models that save taxpayers millions 
 line 5 of dollars without sacrificing public safety. 
 line 6 (i)  Modern technology provides an array of valuable tools that 
 line 7 have already proven effective in the pretrial context, rendering 
 line 8 many current practices obsolete. For instance, recent research 
 line 9 suggests that simple text message reminders can significantly 

 line 10 improve court appearance. The pretrial system in the County of 
 line 11 Santa Clara, which relies on text message reminders, has 
 line 12 maintained a 95-percent court appearance rate for defendants 
 line 13 released before trial. 
 line 14 (j)  In March 2021, the California Supreme Court ruled that 
 line 15 conditioning freedom solely on whether an arrestee can afford 
 line 16 bail is unconstitutional, and that in setting bail, judges must 
 line 17 consider an arrestee’s ability to pay. 
 line 18 (k)  California should be a leader in enacting meaningful bail 
 line 19 reform that upholds the values of equal protection and due process 
 line 20 without compromising the safety of victims and the general public. 
 line 21 SECTION 1.
 line 22 SEC. 2. Section 1269b of the Penal Code is amended to read: 
 line 23 1269b. (a)  The officer in charge of a jail in which an arrested 
 line 24 person is held in custody, an officer of a sheriff’s department or 
 line 25 police department of a city who is in charge of a jail or is employed 
 line 26 at a fixed police or sheriff’s facility and is acting under an 
 line 27 agreement with the agency that keeps the jail in which an arrested 
 line 28 person is held in custody, an employee of a sheriff’s department 
 line 29 or police department of a city who is assigned by the department 
 line 30 to collect bail, the clerk of the superior court of the county in which 
 line 31 the offense was alleged to have been committed, and the clerk of 
 line 32 the superior court in which the case against the defendant is 
 line 33 pending shall approve and accept bail in the amount fixed pursuant 
 line 34 to this section in cash or surety bond executed by a certified, 
 line 35 admitted surety insurer as provided in the Insurance Code, to issue 
 line 36 and sign an order for the release of the arrested person, and to set 
 line 37 a time and place for the appearance of the arrested person before 
 line 38 the appropriate court and give notice thereof. 
 line 39 (b)  If a defendant has appeared before a judge of the court on 
 line 40 the charge contained in the complaint, indictment, or information, 
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 line 1 the bail shall be in the amount fixed by the judge at the time of the 
 line 2 appearance, in accordance with subdivisions (c) and (d). If that 
 line 3 appearance has not been made, the amount of bail shall be fixed 
 line 4 pursuant to subdivisions (c) and (d). 
 line 5 (c)  Bail shall be set at zero dollars ($0) for all misdemeanor and 
 line 6 felony offenses except the following: 
 line 7 (1)  A serious felony, as defined in subdivision (c) of Section 
 line 8 1192.7, or a violent felony, as defined in subdivision (c) of Section 
 line 9 667.5. 

 line 10 (2)  A felony violation of Section 69. 
 line 11 (3)  A violation of paragraph (1) of subdivision (c) of Section 
 line 12 166. 
 line 13 (4)  A violation of Section 136.1 when punishment is imposed 
 line 14 under subdivision (c) of Section 136.1. 
 line 15 (5)  A violation of Section 262. 
 line 16 (6)  A violation of paragraph (1) of subdivision (e) of Section 
 line 17 243 or Section 273.5. 
 line 18 (7)  A violation of Section 273.6 if the detained person made 
 line 19 threats to kill or harm, has engaged in violence against, or has gone 
 line 20 to the residence or workplace of, the protected party. 
 line 21 (8)  A violation of Section 422 where the offense is charged as 
 line 22 a felony. 
 line 23 (9)  A violation of Section 646.9. 
 line 24 (10)  A violation of an offense listed in subdivision (c) of Section 
 line 25 290. 
 line 26 (11)  A violation of Section 23152 or 23153 of the Vehicle Code. 
 line 27 (12)  A felony violation of Section 463. 
 line 28 (13)  A violation of Section 29800. 
 line 29 (14)  A violation of Section 422.6 or Section 422.7. 
 line 30 (15)  A violation of Section 236.1. 
 line 31 (16)  A violation of Section 273a or Section 273d. 
 line 32 (17)  A violation of Section 368. 
 line 33 (18)  A violation of paragraph (4) of subdivision (a) of Section 
 line 34 245. 
 line 35 (d)  (1)  For all offenses listed in paragraphs (1) to (13), (18),
 line 36 inclusive, of subdivision (c), and for the purposes of subdivision 
 line 37 (e), the Judicial Council shall prepare, adopt, and annually revise 
 line 38 a schedule of bail amounts, which shall apply statewide. 
 line 39 (2)  It is the intent of the Legislature to enact further changes to 
 line 40 current law to ensure that a defendant is not detained pending trial 
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 line 1 simply due to an inability to pay for the amount of bail in the 
 line 2 statewide schedule set pursuant to paragraph (1). 
 line 3 (e)  While released on bail for zero dollars ($0), bail for 
 line 4 subsequent separate offenses shall be set pursuant to the statewide 
 line 5 bail schedule established by Judicial Council pursuant to 
 line 6 subdivision (d), and subject to the provisions in subdivision (f). 
 line 7 This subdivision does not apply to those subsequent and separate 
 line 8 offenses that occur after the original offense is resolved. 
 line 9 (f)  (1)  Prior to setting bail for an offense listed in paragraphs 

 line 10 (1) to (18), inclusive, of subdivision (c), or for an offense pursuant 
 line 11 to subdivision (e), the court shall first consider whether 
 line 12 nonfinancial conditions will reasonably protect the public and the 
 line 13 victim and reasonably assure the arrestee’s presence at trial. 
 line 14 (2)  If the court concludes that money bail is reasonably 
 line 15 necessary to protect the public and the victim or reasonably assure 
 line 16 the arrestee’s presence at trial, the court shall consider the 
 line 17 arrestee’s ability to pay, and set bail at a level the arrestee can 
 line 18 reasonably afford. 
 line 19 (e) 
 line 20 (g)  The penalty schedule for infraction violations of the Vehicle 
 line 21 Code shall be established by the Judicial Council in accordance 
 line 22 with Section 40310 of the Vehicle Code. 
 line 23 (f) 
 line 24 (h)  In adopting a uniform statewide schedule of bail for all 
 line 25 offenses listed in paragraphs (1) to (13), (18), inclusive, of 
 line 26 subdivision (c), the Judicial Council shall consider the seriousness 
 line 27 of the offense charged. In considering the seriousness of the offense 
 line 28 charged the judges shall assign an additional amount of required 
 line 29 bail for each aggravating or enhancing factor chargeable in the 
 line 30 complaint, including, but not limited to, additional bail for charges 
 line 31 alleging facts that would bring a person within any of the following 
 line 32 sections: Section 667.5, 667.51, 667.6, 667.8, 667.85, 667.9, 
 line 33 667.10, 12022, 12022.1, 12022.2, 12022.3, 12022.4, 12022.5, 
 line 34 12022.53, 12022.7, 12022.8, or 12022.9 of this code, or Section 
 line 35 11356.5, 11370.2, or 11370.4 of the Health and Safety Code. 
 line 36 (g) 
 line 37 (i)  The statewide bail schedule shall contain a list of the offenses 
 line 38 and the amounts of bail applicable for each offense. The Judicial 
 line 39 Council shall send a copy of the statewide bail schedule to the 
 line 40 presiding judge of each superior court, and the presiding judge 
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 line 1 shall provide a copy of the statewide bail schedule to the officer 
 line 2 in charge of the county jail, to the officer in charge of each city 
 line 3 jail within the county, and to each superior court judge and 
 line 4 commissioner in the county. 
 line 5 (h) 
 line 6 (j)  (1)  Upon posting bail, the defendant or arrested person shall 
 line 7 be discharged from custody as to the offense on which the bail is 
 line 8 posted. 
 line 9 (2)  All money and surety bonds so deposited with an officer 

 line 10 authorized to receive bail shall be transmitted immediately to the 
 line 11 judge or clerk of the court by which the order was made or warrant 
 line 12 issued or bail schedule fixed. If, in the case of felonies, an 
 line 13 indictment is filed, the judge or clerk of the court shall transmit 
 line 14 all of the money and surety bonds to the clerk of the court. 
 line 15 (i) 
 line 16 (k)  If a defendant or arrested person so released fails to appear 
 line 17 at the time and in the court so ordered upon their release from 
 line 18 custody, Sections 1305 and 1306 apply. 
 line 19 SEC. 2.
 line 20 SEC. 3. Section 1269d is added to the Penal Code, to read: 
 line 21 1269d. Costs relating to conditions of release from custody 
 line 22 shall not be imposed on a person released on bail or their own 
 line 23 recognizance pursuant to this chapter. 
 line 24 SEC. 3.
 line 25 SEC. 4. Section 1302.5 is added to the Penal Code, to read: 
 line 26 1302.5. (a)  The court shall order a return of money or property 
 line 27 paid to a bail bond licensee by or on behalf of the arrestee to obtain 
 line 28 bail under any of the following circumstances: 
 line 29 (1)  An action or proceeding against an arrestee who has been 
 line 30 admitted to bail is dismissed. 
 line 31 (2)  No charges are filed against the arrestee within 60 days of 
 line 32 arrest. 
 line 33 (3)  The arrestee has made all court appearances during the 
 line 34 pendency of the action or proceeding against the arrestee. 
 line 35 (b)  The bail bond licensee shall be entitled to retain a surcharge 
 line 36 not to exceed 5 percent of the amount paid by the arrestee or on 
 line 37 behalf of the arrestee. 
 line 38 (c)  Money or property shall be returned pursuant to subdivision 
 line 39 (a) within 30 days of the court order issued pursuant to subdivision 
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 line 1 (a) and shall be to the entity or person who paid the money or 
 line 2 property to the bail bond licensee to obtain bail. 
 line 3 (d)  A court shall order a return of money or property pursuant 
 line 4 to this section only for a bail contract entered into on or after 
 line 5 January 1, 2022. 

O 
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