



BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Javet Santos Cold. President Tom Canian Vice President

Lesa McDonald Chan Secretary Treasurer Corol Baird Lynn Barris Midhael Beele Kolly McDonald

## ADVISORY COUNCIL

Norma Авелии Lawron Blazej Peter Blue John Everts Jim Folsom Bonnie Gendron Irene Tsukada Germain Lawrence I. Grossman Jane Hagedorn Neil Havlik Sherri Hoduefield John Hopking Richard tharra Sharon Johnson Patrick Kennedy Mel Lane Ellen Maldonado Sam Mills Bruce Poplik Catherine Rich Janet Rossel J. K. Sasaki Ginger Strong Sonia Tamez Jack Varian Charles Warren Richard Wilson

## TECHNICAL ADVISORS

Roger Boddaort Ron Cowau Rosemary Dagit Ruh Gross Walter Mark Dong McCreary Norm Pillsbury Malcolm Sproul Rick Standiford



Our mission is to protect and perpetuate native oak woodlands

May 8, 2006

Mr. Jeff Hogan Community Development City of Santa Clarita 23920 Valencia Blvd. Santa Clarita, CA 91355

## RE: Gates-King Industrial Center

Dear Mr. Hogan:

The California Oak Foundation (COF) writes to express our opposition to the destruction of 1,408 oaks designated as a State Significant Hardwood Forest. Such a loss would cause significant impact to wildlife between the Santa Susanna and San Gabriel Mountains. Over 300 species of wildlife depend on California's oak trees for food and nesting sites.

Healthy watersheds and sustainable wildlife habitat require careful consideration and responsible actions. We assume that keeping Los Augeles County clean, cool and healthy are also priorities.

Thank you for your cooperation in conserving Los Angeles County oak woodland resources for future generations.

Sincerely, lint Janot/Cobb, President

1212 BROADWAY, SUITE 842 OAKLAND CA 94612 TEL 510 763 0282 FAX 510 208 4435 OAKSTAFF@CALIFORNIAOAKS.ORG WWW.CALIFORNIAOAKS.ORG

1